Home > Uncategorized > JavaScript Beautifier

JavaScript Beautifier

I’m constantly looking at bits of JavaScript that have been minified, or JSON packets that are all on one line, etc. and wondering how I’m supposed to make any sense of them. The latter example is the most common at the moment – hitting a URL and then examining what came back in the awesome Fiddler.

It finally occurred to me to look for a site that you can paste some JS gibberish into, click a button and have it laid out nicely:

http://jsbeautifier.org/

I tried it, immediately bookmarked it, and was so overjoyed to know it exists and does exactly what I want, I had to donate. I think it’s the fastest donation I’ve ever made to anything. It literally took about 30 seconds from finding the site to going to Paypal.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. August 26, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    I was very, very delighted to read that. I wrote you a thank-you letter, though you probably haven’t received it — it’s spam@ mentioned in the paypal’s email, and as such probably doesn’t get checked much.

    • earwicker
      August 27, 2010 at 9:12 am

      My pleasure! You’re right about that email address – it’s real but I only check it when I’m expecting something. A few years ago it was my regular email address, the idea being to fool the scanners/spammers into discarding it from their lists. I think it worked pretty well until about 2005. But now it receives a spam email every few minutes.

  2. May 11, 2014 at 3:22 am

    Thanks for your nice suggestion tool 🙂
    Also if you want to minify JavaScript code you can use this tool http://minifycode.com/javascript-minifier/ << this is my suggestion

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

